Facts and Myths about the Doberman Pinscher

MYTHS

I’d like to buy a Doberman puppy—do you have any “King” Dobermans?
There is no such thing as a “King” Doberman. Or a “Superior” or “Excelsior” Doberman either. These terms refer to nothing more than an oversized Doberman. Dobermans are medium-sized, agile dogs; they must be to perform the job they were bred to do. If you want a 32-inch tall dog, perhaps a larger breed would be more suitable.

I’m looking for a puppy—do you have any miniature Dobermans?
Again, there is no such thing as a miniature Doberman. Most people inquiring about miniatures are looking for a miniature pinscher (Min Pin), a native German breed that has been known in that country for over 300 years. The miniature pinscher is 10-12½” at the shoulder and was originally used as a barnyard ratter. They are in no way similar to a Doberman.

How old are they when their brain gets too large for their skull and they attack their owner?
You can’t imagine how often breeders are asked this question.  Of course it is physically impossible for the brain to outgrow the skull, but this myth persists and is believed as gospel by many otherwise-intelligent people.

How old are they when they turn on their owner?
This question may be related to the previous question. In any case, a healthy, well-bred Doberman, properly socialized and trained, doesn’t turn on his owner. Period.

I’ve heard that Dobermans are hard to train.
In fact, the opposite is true. Dobermans are very intelligent dogs and learn quickly. Because they are intelligent, they can be a challenge for an inexperienced trainer—if you’re not careful, before you know it your Doberman will have trained you! Training should begin with the breeder and must continue as soon as your puppy comes home. A good, puppy class is a must once the puppy has had two vaccinations, and ongoing obedience classes with a talented trainer would be advised. Dobermans do not respond well to outdated force training.

My last Doberman was really hyper—do you have any calm ones?
A well-bred Doberman should not be hyper, but you must remember that Dobermans are working dogs; they need mental and physical exercise. Many behavioural problems can surface due to boredom and/or lack of exercise. If you don’t give them something to do (i.e. training, games) they will find something to do. But that shouldn’t mean they won’t park themselves on the couch with you when you want to watch television. Most Dobes want to be with their owners, no matter what the activity.

Also, dogs are like people in that some are more active than others. Part of a breeders responsibility is to match a busy puppy with a busy owner and a quieter puppy with a less active owner. No one knows the puppies better than the breeder who has spent countless hours with them.

I’ve heard that if I breed my female it will help settle her down.
Absolutely not. Apart from the fact that we already have far too many backyard breeders who know nothing about the breed and have no concern for health or temperament, consider why she needs to be settled down. What behaviours are causing the concern? Having a litter is no substitute for training your dog to be a well-mannered member of your family.

I’ve heard that Dobermans don’t shed.
If only it were true! They do lose hair—sometimes a lot—but they don’t shed undercoat that produces the fluff balls most people associate with shedding.

I’ve heard that cropping makes them mean.
No, this too is incorrect.  Ear cropping is a major operation done under anaesthetic. It takes a couple of days for the puppies to be back to normal; in two weeks the stitches are removed and the ears are completely healed.

Source

My baby boy, Logan

 

33 thoughts on “Facts and Myths about the Doberman Pinscher

  1. You did a great job explaining the myths and fact, the sad thing is that I receive calls all the time regarding the same myths, and most people seem to believe and spread the myth rather than fact. Some people are so ignorant as to even say that experience means nothing and they seem to feel they know better just because they bought a king or mini Doberman once off of kijiji.
    Some people are just nuts.

    P.S. Keep up the good work 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

    Like

  3. J.C.

    HI, my cousin owned a Doberman from the time that it was just a few months old. I saw this same dog attack him while he was visiting us. He was about to leave and the dog was on a leash but it didn’t want to go. When he pulled on the leash to get him to come he then got angry and bit him. He was not afraid of the dog so he held on to the leash and got him under control. But he did not keep the dog after that event. I know you weren’t there to see it happen. But, what are some things that would make a dog attack its owner?

    Like

    1. pepper

      I know of a child that was raised with a dobie and both were seven years old at the time if this attack. This dog slept with the boy, loved him unconditionally and never even heard the dog growl. The child Troy was playing, never was mean to this dog or nothing and one day out of the blue, the dog for no apparant reason turned on Troy and mauled his face off. Litteraly ,ears, face, neck, scalp,couldn’t get the dog off of him until dad stepped in at which point the dig went after dad and he had the dig in a choke hold until the dog passed out. Then it was put down. You just never know. Troy survived his wounds but is now blind in one eye and will never be or look the same.

      Like

  4. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is important and everything. But think of if
    you added some great pictures or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!

    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this site could definitely
    be one of the most beneficial in its field. Fantastic blog!

    Like

  5. Hello there I am so excited I found your website, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great job.

    Like

  6. It is in reality a nice and helpful piece of information.

    I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  7. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on
    the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos
    to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

    Like

  8. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something
    to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to
    let you know.
    The design and style look great though!
    Hope you get the problem solved soon.

    Like

  9. ll see much better results with this diet plan than
    you would with others that use some generic formula to calculate your nutrient needs.
    Check out this article instantly to determine for yourself.

    It will never feature large degrees of filler information, or even lengthy explanations.

    Like

  10. Kimberly

    I’ve always had Dobies. The myth that
    bugs me the most is “I’ve got a Warlock Doberman” Brahms Warlock was a Doberman in the 70’s that was an exquisite representation of the breed. He was not large or thicker haired. My dad had a Doberman in the late 70’s early 80’s Brahms actually was in his genetic history. Even that long ago Warlock was 5 generations back in his bloodline.

    Like

  11. dennis mccary

    my female Doberman is 3 months old and I need to train her from chasing my cats, how do I do that? and she is hyper I need to stop her from jumping on people and biting

    Like

    1. Donna

      Please check the Doberman rescue group in your area most have fun training classes. My rescue loves her classes, she is a strong powerful protective breed that needs constant vigilance hope this helps.

      Like

  12. Jamie Stafford

    I have had 4 dobes in my life. Everyone has been a great loving, loyal, and great dogs. They need love and something to do. Great family dog!

    Like

  13. Candace

    I recently had a stray Large male Doberman show up in my front yard, he is not neutered, not microchipped, but has his tail docked, and his ears cropped He was very thin and by thin I mean his ribs were jutting out (not your normal sleek body type). This boy was approximately between the age of 4-6 according to the Veterinarian I took him to ( this was judging by his teeth). He was Very well behaved, sit, stay, down for lay down, up (to jump up into the back of my suv) I am disabled and I am wondering if he will need lots of exercise? Or if he will be hyper? I can say one thing, he became VERY attached to me within a very short period of time and was Very loyal, walking beside me politely, following me when not told to stay. Thanks in advance for any information. I have put out flyers, Internet posts, etc in an effort to find his actual owner, but if no one claims him I would just like to know this information. I had him vaccinated and checked out, bathed and put frontline on him. He is Truly Gorgeous!!

    Like

  14. Lucinda Arnold

    I have a fawn Dobe that has a dry coat. I give him fish oil capsules to try and help shine his coat and comfort his skin but it’s not working well. It irritates his digestive system as well as the salmon/boiled egg/tuna with oil mixture that the vet recommended. Now he’s strictly on Racheal Ray’s Just6 dry food.

    I also bathe him with medicated shampoo and later rub him with coconut oil (that he loves to lick off). Nothing is working well enough. Any recommendations?

    Like

    1. Amanda

      The diluted colors (blue/fawn) are known to have skin and coat issues — a good diet and supplements will only go so far when there are poor genetics involved. 😦 Check with your vet, maybe they could recommend something.

      Like

  15. Hawk

    There does appear to be larger Dobermans coming out of Europe. The “average” size of a euro Dobe is naturally bigger than the American, as recognized by FCI international standards. Stranger still is that the specimens coming out of Yugoslavia, Serbia, Slovakia, and parts of Russia seem to have many large specimens among them. I mean large! Take a Yugoslav specimen and compare it to an American one and it will generally be easy to recognize.

    Like

Leave a comment